Arizona law dating a minor

Consent & Arizona's Statutory Rape Law

Arizona Statutory Rape Laws

The Arizona Age of Consent is 18 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 17 or younger in Arizona are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, eating such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.

Arizona statutory rape law is violated when an individual has sexual intercourse with a person under age Defenses exist if the victim and arizoja offender are legally married or if the offender is under age 19 or currently attending high school and was not more than 2 years older than the victim when consensual intercourse occurred. Arizona has a close-in-age exemption. A close in age exemptionalso known as "Romeo and Juliet law", is designed to prevent the prosecution of underage couples who engage in consensual sex when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, dating hamburg free one or both are below the age mihor consent.

Depending on the situation, the Arizona close-in-age arizona law dating a minor may completely exempt qualifying close-in-age couples from the age datlng consent law, or merely provide a legal aizona that can be used in the event of prosecution. The Age of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 years old across the United States.

Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws. The age of consent in Arizona is based on the following statutes from the Arizona criminal code:. Arizona has ten statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state. One or arizoa of these charges may be used to prosecute violations laq the Arizona Age of Consent, as statutory rape or the Arizona equivalent of that charge.

The severity of the criminal charge felony, misdemeanor, etc depends on the specifics of the acts committed and the relative ages of the perpetrator and arzona. Click any charge for more detailed information. Back to list of state ages of consent View international ages of consent. Usage is subject to our Terms and Privacy Policy. All information provided AS-IS arizona law dating a minor no warranty of accuracy. If you are a victim of sexual assault or statutory rape, call the hour RAINN help dahing at HOPE.

What is Age of Consent? What is Statutory Rape? Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District Of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Arizona law dating a minor Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Arizona law dating a minor.

Arizona Age of Consent Laws Home Age of Consent Laws By State Arizona document. What is the Arizona Age of Consent? Age of Consent across the United Arizoba The Arizoba of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 years old across the United States. Aggravated luring of a minor for sexual exploitation. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor. Continuous sexual abuse of a child under Luring a minor for sexual exploitation. Public sexual datibg to a minor. If victim under 12, life in prison without probation until 35 years served; 1 If the minor is under age 15, five years in prison; 2 if the offender is arizona law dating a minor least age 18 or is tried as an adult and the minor was age 12 or younger, life in prison and the offender is ineligible for arizona law dating a minor until serving 35 years; 3 if the offender is at least 18 or tried as an adult and the victim is age 12, 13, or 14, the presumptive sentence is 20 years; Punishable by one year in prison.

Unlawful sexual conduct by an rating probation department. Unlawful sexual conduct; arizona law dating a minor employees.

When is Bail Set in an Arizona Criminal Case?

Leave a comment